top of page

Email the Santa Monica City Council

Santa Monica City Council: council@santamonica.gov

City Clerk: councilmtgitems@santamonica.gov

 

Santa Monica Mayor Phil Brock: phil.brock@santamonica.gov

Santa Monica Mayor Pro Tem Lana Negrete: lana.negrete@santamonica.gov

Council Member Gleam Davis: gleam.davis@santamonica.gov

Council Member Christine Parra: christine.parra@santamonica.gov 

Council Member Jesse Zwick: jesse.zwick@santamonica.gov 

Council Member Caroline Torosis: caroline.torosis@santamonica.gov 

Council Member Oscar de la Torre: oscar.delatorre@santamonica.gov 

If possible, please cc on all emails:

david.white@santamonica.gov

Nia.tang@santamonica.gov

David.Martin@santamonica.gov

Douglas.sloan@santamonica.gov

jennifer.taylor@santamonica.gov

 

Contacts

Here are some ideas to help get you started. You needn’t use all these points (or any of them!)  You may also prefer to write about a personal experience you’ve had at the Civic.

What We Want

Ownership

Revenue For the City

A restored, vibrant, PUBLIC Civic Auditorium serving as a venue for the performing, musical and visual arts. Such a Civic would make our City a cultural and arts destination for Santa Monicans, Southern Californians and beyond; a source of pride (and tax revenue!) for the people of our great City. 

A Civic Auditorium is owned by the residents of Santa Monica. Keeping public spaces public is vital to to residents’ sense of being a community.

A revitalized world-class concert and performing arts center would provide the City with a revenue stream for decades, as opposed to a one-time sale. And the economic ripple effect for Santa Monica would be huge as a restored concert and performing arts venue in the heart of our city would attract people from all over the region and beyond, generating economic activity (and tax dollars!) for hotels, restaurants, etc., enhancing our City’s destination status. 

We Can Do It!

On May 28, 2024 our City Council will decide in Closed Session whether to enter into negotiations with RPG (Revitalization Partners Group LLC) to seismically upgrade, restore, program, and operate our landmark Civic Auditorium as a performing arts and cultural center.  Santa Monica residents will continue to own the Civic.  RPG will not ask the City for any funds.  RPG is a consortium of Make Good Group, Geyser Holdings, Irving Azoff, Oak View Group, and Live Nation.

Write to the Council supporting this opportunity!

The Arts Are Important!  

The Civic has ALWAYS been a place for the performing arts and music. Those pursuits are vital in building community and enhancing culture.  Many Santa Monicans make their living in arts and entertainment. The City should respect that community and not eliminate what was, and could be again, a world-class center for music and the arts.

History Is Important!

The Civic was designed by renowned architect, Welton Becket, who also built the Mark Taper Forum, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, the Theme Restaurant at LAX and the Capital Records Building. Landmarks like this must not be put in danger of being torn down, but honored and revitalized.

bottom of page